We have a plan!

Assalaamu alaikum

It feels almost impossible to document our plan for the year insha Allah as our resources comes from so many places. This is just a rough idea of what we are covering. When it is going to be done will depend on the girls’ interests at the time.We may go deeper into some topics than planned so I am not putting a time frame on this plan.

Circle time: This needs its own post to outline what we will be doing insha Allah. I may be a bit over ambitious with regards to all I would like to include so I will tweek it until it suits us insha Allah.

As it stands I would like to include:

  • Greeting
  • Reciting morning athkar
  • Quraan
  • Duah of the week
  • Name of Allah of the week (Discuss/revise)
  • Question of the day
  • Hadith of the day
  • Writing in calendar file

We will do another circle time after lunch and Thuhr Salaah to regroup before the afternoon slot insha Allah.

Islamic Studies:

We will be using this Islamic studies framework as it is clear and concise masha Allah. Umm An Nu’man over at A Muslim child is born wrote about it here.

  • Tauheed
  • Aqeeda
  • Quraan
  • Seera
  • Akhlaq
  • 5 pillars

I will write a more in depth post about  each of these as there are so many other links to great works that other sisters made available through their blogs but for now here are some resources I found:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Arabic

I have been holding out and waiting to find an Arabic teacher for the girls but in the meanwhile I better just try my best with them insha Allah. We will be using these resources and other craft and worksheet based activities

We will use these for Arabic Writing

Lives of Prophets:

We have read all the Prophet’s stories but now we will do further studies to develop their comprehension insha Allah. I have prepared units on three Anbiyaa and insha Allah I will make some more as we go along insha Allah.

Math

Zahra: MEP Reception year

Montessori numeracy activities

Imaan: MEP Year 1 (to go over some basics)

Singapore math 1A

Worksheets, games, hands on activities for practice:

  • Addition and subtraction (practice number bonds)
  • Place value
  • Measurement
  • Graphing
  • Estimation
  • Time
  • Money

English

Zahra: Montessori method, we are currently using the moveable alphabet and doing work with the Pink Series masha Allah. Using handwriting worksheets and A LOT of prereading activities I have found online.

Imaan: Montessori Blue and Green level along with loads of hands on materials I have made to facilitate fluency insha Allah. Grammar: First Language Lessons and Scholastics Grammar, along with the sight word activities and many many other resources I will share as we go along insha Allah.

She loves reading so I am searching high and low for good reading material for her. I don’t understand why fantasy and witchcraft have to be so prevalent in the children’s reading material! I ended up printing off a few readers for her to use alhamdulillah. According to the this guideline with regards to their Primary English Curriculum Framework Imaan is doing quite well but I don’t want to move through to stage two as I want to encourage fluency as I believe it is more important to have solid foundations than to rush to reach higher levels. She can enjoy having mastered this level a bit longer and if I feel she needs more stimulation we can move on insha Allah.

Geography

I have a post in the works which has more details.

Nature Studies

We will be using UmmTafari’s 6 week Nature Studies Unit which she has provided on her blog (River City Homeschoolers). I love it because she has made it so hands on and brings in Quraan Ayaat as well!! 🙂 May Allah rewards her.

We will also be doing lapbooks on a few topics which tie in with her Nature Studies Unit.

  • Birds
  • Plants
  • Clouds
  • Water Cycle

Science

I have prepared unit studies on:

  • Phases of matter
  • The five senses
  • The body
  • Reuse, reduce and recycle

OK so that a verrry rough idea of what we will be doing I hope to post details of each of the subjects to share my links and resources with you all insha Allah.

Please make duah that Allah grant us success in Dunya and Aakhira and that we please Him in our efforts . We make duah that Allah correct us and keep us on the Siraat Al Mustaqeem and never leave us for even a second. This is hard work but if Allah wills      the rewards is surely greater!

One thought on “We have a plan!

  1. Assalam alaykom sister masha Allah that’s true it’s hard worK but you’ll see the result inshaAllah later, i ask Allah to make it easy for you amine.

Leave a Reply

