What we have been up to

Bismillahi Rahmaani Raheem

Assalaamu alaikum

So I have been thinking of what to blog about…trying to see if there is anything in our day which could be of benefit. I was looking back over the past few weeks reviewing our “moments” and I was struck by how “unschooly” we are. We have bits of structure in that we are consistently learning all day but it does not follow much of a schedule nor do we use a standard curriculum.

The more I dwell on it the more I realize I have been doing this even before we decided to homeschool. I always followed the girls interests, making sure to suggest things along the lines of what currently has their minds whirring…but then I thought about how I use a bit of Montessori methodology as well, by presenting or making available age appropriate activities to spark an interest, but never forcing it. Surrounding them with shelves of interesting activities which they can get involved with if it interests them.Β  There is so much out there why be limited to just one?

Alhamdulillah none of these methodologies tie us in. First and foremost we are Muslim and that is where the structure, consistency, schedule and guidelines are. We are trying our best to stay on the Siraat al Mustaqeem and that is more important than anything what so ever! Making sure we have no Shirk, no Bid’ah, no disrespect, no dishonesty, etc… in that we have pretty strict boundaries. Alhamdulillah.

While they are still young IΒ  hope to continue with a free flowing “structure”. I have been inspired by Umm Raiyaan who also writes about her family’s inadvertent exploration of unschooling. During the summer months I would also like to try to apply more of the Chalotte Mason approach by encouraging outside play and nature study insha Allah. Have you read her writing? It’s a very interesting way to enrich your homeschool experience. This site has some very interesting free e-books where you can read more, insha Allah.

For now I will continue scouring the internet for ways to keep the education of my children a joyful experience for both them and me, insha Allah.

 

9 thoughts on “What we have been up to

  1. Asalamualaikum wa rahmatullah,
    well this post has certainly benefited me. Jazakallahkhair for your pictures which in this case has spoken louder than the words (not that reading the narrative to this post hasn’t also benefited me!)

  2. as salaamu `alaykum wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh

    What lovely days you’ve been having πŸ™‚ Ma shaa Allah! Have you downloaded Umm Tafari’s nature study ebook? It’s nice!

  3. Wa alaikum Salaam warahmatullahi wabarakatu Umm U, I am so please it was able to be of benefit walhamdulillah. Havn’t seen you online for a few weeks I hope you and your family are well insha Allah.

    Wa alaikum Salaam warahmatullahi wabarakatu Imaan, Alhamdulillah we are much more settled now Sakeenah is 9 months and a bit more “predictable” LOL!
    Yes! Umm Tafari is one of my Nature Study inspirations masha Allah!

  4. Alhamdulillah, glad to hear you are alright πŸ™‚ Yes I know what you mean, I have been really bad and staying up late at night researching and printing off things, I have to change my habits insha Allah.

  5. Assalaamu Alaikum sis!

    Masha Allaah great to see your posts after a break! Very interesting to know how each one is thinking how well they could change for the best Alhamdulillaah! I have some thoughts too and will share soon Insha Allaah! It is indeed the Mercy of Allaah that He guides us towards what is best Insha Allaah every now and then! Wonderful pictures! May Allaah grant you success Aameen!

  6. Bismillaah

    As Salaamu Alaiki
    Why oh why do I not get post in my email ………………….*frowns* Baraka’Allaahu’Feekum for sharing and very nice/interesting post! Your pictures (as everyone has stated) are lovely Mashaa’Allaah! Ameen to sis Umm Maimoonah’s dua for you πŸ™‚ and hey you changed your layout!?! I like! hehe.

  7. Wa alaikum salaam warahmatullahi wabarakatu sisters

    Shukran for your kind comments πŸ™‚ Ameen to your duah Umm Maimoonah, yes I have been so busy, my brother got married last weekend so its been lots of fun with relatives visiting etc πŸ™‚ alhamdulillah.

    Yes Umm Suhaila, I am trying to make this my online home πŸ™‚ Don’t have much time to devote to it tho.

    Pixie, so nice to see you here πŸ™‚ I am based in Cape Town so I got it locally at a Montessori supplier.

Leave a Reply

